This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy.

Skip to main content

Back to parent pageIus Novum

IUS NOVUM (ISSN 1897-5577) is a quarterly of the Faculty of Law and Administration of Lazarski University in Warsaw. It has been published since 2007. The main editorial goal is to present opinions on the proposals of legislative changes, legal solutions passed, and the results of their retrospective verification. The scope of the presented considerations is not limited to one or two branches of law but is a forum to exchange thoughts concerning law sensu largo. The thematic range of "Ius Novum" is broad and covers the history of law, political and legal doctrines, Roman law, civil law, criminal law, administrative law, business law, etc. The journal welcomes the opportunity to present articles written by the faculty members of Lazarski University as well as scholars from other academic centres. We are happy to cooperate with renowned scholars and warmly greet those who are beginners in the field. The journal aspires to be a platform for exchanging opinions for allwith something interesting and new to present. Materials are published in the form of articles, commentaries, reviews and reports. In accordance with the 2015 evaluation of journals conducted by the Ministry of Science and Higher Education, a publication in "Ius Novum" is awarded 11 points.

Advisory board

Professor Maria Kruk-Jarosz, PhD, Lazarski University (Poland) – Chairperson 
Professor Sylvie Bernigasud, PhD, l’Université Lumière Lyon 2 (France) 
Professor Vincent Correia, PhD, Université Paris-Sud, Université de Poitiers (France) 
Professor Bertil Cottier, PhD, Università della Svizzera Italiana in Lugano (Switzerland) 
Professor Regina Garcimartín Montero, PhD, Universidad de Zaragoza (Spain) 
Professor Stephan Hobe, PhD, Cologne University (Germany) 
Professor, Brunon Hołyst, PhD, HonD.,  University of Łódź (Poland) 
Professor Michele Indellicato, PhD, Università degli Studi di Bari Aldo Moro (Italy) 
Professor Hugues Kenfack, PhD, Université Toulouse 1 in Toulouse (France) 
Professor Franciszek Longchamps de Bérier, PhD, Jagiellonian University (Poland)
Professor Pablo Mendes de Leon, PhD, Leiden University (the Netherlands) 
Professor Adam Olejniczak, PhD, Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań (Poland)
Professor Ferdinando Parente, PhD Università degli Studi di Bari Aldo Moro (Italy)
Professor Grzegorz Rydlewski, PhD, University of Warsaw (Poland)
Professor Vinai Kumar Singh, PhD, New Delhi, Indian Society of International Law (India) 
Professor Gintaras Švedas, PhD, Vilniaus Universitetas (Lithuania) 
Professor Anita Ušacka, PhD, judge of the International Criminal Court in the Hague (the Netherlands) 
Professor Juana Maria Gil Ruiz, Facultad de Derecho de la Universidad de Granada (Spain)
Professor Juan Carlos Ferré Olivé, Universidad de Huelva (Spain)
Professor Carmen Armendáriz León, Universidad Complutense de Madrid (Spain)
Ewa Weigend, PhD, the Max Planck Institute of Foreign and International Criminal Law in Freiburg (Germany)


Editor-in-Chief: Professor Ryszard A. Stefański, PhD – Lazarski University
Secretary: Professor Jacek Kosonoga, PhD – Lazarski University


Professor Juan Carlos Ferré Olivé, PhD - dziekan Wydziału Prawa Uniwersytetu w Huelva (Hiszpania)           Professor Carmen Armendáriz León, PhD - Wydział Prawa Uniwersytetu Complutense w Madrycie (Hiszpania)


Natallia Artsiomenka – Belarusian                                                                                               Grzegorz Butrym – English                                                                                                               Martin Dahl – German                                                                                                                     Maria Furman – Polish                                                                                                                   Elwira Stefańska – Russian                                                                                                           Jadwiga Ziębowicz – French


Criminal law and criminal procedure – Professor Barbara Nita-Światłowska, PhD 
Civil law – Helena Ciepła, PhD 
Administrative law – Professor Stanisław Hoc, PhD 
Constitutional law – Jacek Zaleśny, PhD 
International law – Dominika harasimiuk, PhD 
Statistics – Krystyna Bąk, PhD


The quarterly publishes works on a wide variety of legal issues, reviews and reports on scholarly aspects of university life. The only condition is the reviewers’ positive opinion. The material for publication should be sent to the editor in the form of a standard typescript copy (30 lines of 60 characters each, i.e. about 1,800 characters on a page) together with a digital version saved on a data storage device or e-mailed to:

Footnotes should be placed at the bottom of a page with the use of digital numbering. Footnotes should be created according to Guidelines for authors. After the main part of the paper, it is necessary to include a bibliography containing only the sources referred to in the footnotes. Bibliography should be in alphabetical order.

Every article should be accompanied by an abstract containing a statement of the article’s aim, the method(s) used by the author, its results and conclusions. An abstract should not exceed 20 lines of typescript. If there are specialist terms or technical expressions in the abstract, their English equivalents should be provided. An article should not exceed 22 pages of standard typescript, and a review, a scholarly announcement or information – 12 pages.
The editor reserves the right to shorten an article, change the title or headings, and introduce stylistic changes.

The author should provide his/her full name (first name and surname), address, telephone/fax number, e-mail address, academic degree, scientific title, and the name of the research organization he/she is affiliated with.